Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Waterfowl Hunting
Do You Have Any Duck or Goose Hunting Questions Before the Season Begins? >

Do You Have Any Duck or Goose Hunting Questions Before the Season Begins?

Community
Waterfowl Hunting Receive the benefit of experienced duck and goose hunters in this waterfowl forum.

Do You Have Any Duck or Goose Hunting Questions Before the Season Begins?

Old 08-21-2010, 10:34 PM
Fork Horn

Default Do You Have Any Duck or Goose Hunting Questions Before the Season Begins?

Maybe I can answer them.

God bless,

T.R.
Old 08-25-2010, 05:59 PM
Spike

trmichels,

I have some general questions about goose hunting that I am sure that if I search through here long enough, I would be able to find my answers. Since nobody else has replied.......

Background,
This is my first year officially goose hunting and we have a private lease located in a bean field. There are 5 of us that are going to be hunting out of a pit blind. My schedule is a bit different than the rest of the guys and I have a son who is almost 2 years old and since we paid a pretty penny I would like to get out there any time my schedule permits even if this means hunting alone.

1) How many decoys would I need to have set at the very least to successfully bring in the birds (I realize there is more to it than that).

2) What is the basic rule of thumb when setting them up (Spacing, wind direction, pattern, prox to blind)

3) I have been working on calling a little this summer using the primos honker call and trying to follow the video. If my skills are not completely there, can I blow the hunt by calling? If I dont call do I have a chance at having them come in? What do you thing are some calling basics that I could follow.

4) Our season start Sept 1 and the beans are currently about 16 inches tall. Will they land in standing beans or will we have to wait until they are picked?