Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Waterfowl Hunting
Good Duck Hunting Shotgun? >

Good Duck Hunting Shotgun?

Community
Waterfowl Hunting Receive the benefit of experienced duck and goose hunters in this waterfowl forum.

Good Duck Hunting Shotgun?

Old 08-16-2010, 07:18 PM
Spike

Default Good Duck Hunting Shotgun?

What is a good shotgun to get for duck hunting? Nothing over $700. What chamber size? I've been told to get a Remington 870 with a 3" chamber. What about the magnum 3 1/2" chamber? I am new to duck hunting.
Old 08-16-2010, 07:54 PM
Nontypical Buck

In my experience, nearly 25 years now. The Remington 870 is very hard to beat. For the majority of shot situations, the 3" is about all, you'll need. Unless, your heading out to hunt geese regularly, the 3 1/2" is over doing it.

Otherwise, any shotgun capable of firing steel or other non-toxic shot should be good enough. I personally use the same O\U 12ga. double that I bought when I turned 18, before that I was successful with 20ga's that I was loaned by family.

One item to consider is what you will be comfortable with, as this WILL have an affect on how well you hit the birds. An ill fitting gun can partly cause poor marksmanship, though, in most cases practice can help alleviate that.
Old 08-17-2010, 05:04 AM
Typical Buck

Any shotgun that fits and feels good to you is a good waterfowl gun. Pump,Auto,O/U there all good to go. If you insist on 3 1/2" one might as well go to a 10 ga. If you still want a 12 ga 3 1/2 go look on the used rack some of the bigger places like Gander ,Cabelas you'll usually find alot of them.
Old 08-17-2010, 05:42 AM
Typical Buck

Remington SPR 453.

12 ga, 3.5 inch semi-auto. I know several guys that have one. It works reliably in the mud, rain and snow. It's around $400. Look at cdnninvestments.com
Old 08-17-2010, 07:56 AM
Typical Buck