Community
Waterfowl Hunting Receive the benefit of experienced duck and goose hunters in this waterfowl forum.

Avoiding Cripples?

Old 09-08-2009, 08:31 PM
Spike

Default Avoiding Cripples?

It was opening day of goose season here, and me and a couple buddies were out. We were using 3" #2 Winchester steel....with decent success, but still had a few we had to finish off, and a couple fly aways...I tried out some 3" T's, and I hammered a Canada 3 times at less than 25 yards, only to watch it fly away...
I am new to waterfowl, and I really hate to watch an obviously injure gbird fly off to die...is there any loads that work better than others? I am not into skybustign and keep my shots to less than 30 yards. What should I be using?
Old 09-09-2009, 02:33 AM
Fork Horn

Hevi-shot is one, if you want to spent the cash.

were are you hitting the birds? best is lead enough for head, or concentrate on the arm pit or wing pit if you wish.
Old 09-09-2009, 05:19 AM
Nontypical Buck

I see this a lot... Here is what you do.. Two things.

First and foremost, Pattern your gun! Every gun shoots each load a little different. My 870 shoots 3" number 4's Kent Faststeel very well!

Second- Don't skyblast... It's just not worth it. get em in close! It's much more rewarding that way anyway.
Old 09-09-2009, 07:53 PM
Spike

I use 3 in BB our BBB with impovemode choke work well for me in 3 in in 3.1/2 I use 2 or BB 13/8 shot @ 1500 fps or 1450 fps work great on late season birds
Old 09-10-2009, 12:13 PM
Nontypical Buck

Black Cloud BBB
Old 09-10-2009, 04:24 PM
Nontypical Buck

BB's or BBB
Pattern your gun to see how a load shoots
If you can't get it to pattern well
Trade or give away the rest of the shells

OH Shoot !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I can't count the number of guys bitch about not killing birds
And when you ask how much they shoot
They may have shot a few clay targets in the last 6 months
But way to many guys never shoot all off season

Shoot