Community
Waterfowl Hunting Receive the benefit of experienced duck and goose hunters in this waterfowl forum.

mounting ducks

Old 01-27-2003, 12:21 PM
ARO

Default mounting ducks

how does everyone decide the position to get there ducks mounted? do certain ducks look better flying and others standing or preening, i just started duck hunting this year, so i am kinda new at this.

thanks
ARO
Old 01-28-2003, 12:03 AM
Banned

Default [Deleted]

[Deleted by Admins]
Old 02-01-2003, 10:50 AM
Typical Buck

Default RE: mounting ducks

I agree that it's a matter of preference what position you'd like. Personally I just take pictures and keep a journal. I've found mounts of all kinds to be dust collectors and a royal pain. Remember it will be you that has to care for them odds are the wife or girlfriend won't. Even big game I just do pics and a european style skull.
Must easier to sit back and thumb thru a book to relieve those memories. I'll save the feathers for fly tying not hanging on the wall.
Old 02-06-2003, 10:55 AM
Nontypical Buck

Aro,here's one of my favorite mounts.It's 2 mallards with 3 ducklings under the hen.It's a table-top mount.
Old 02-10-2003, 11:00 AM

ARO

It is a personal opinion, if you want to get it mounted at all and if you choose to get one mounted what works or looks good to you. I think if you see a mount you like remember it so you can look that particular mount up at the taxidermist or at the very least explain it to them. If you have not seen anything you liked than look at what he can show you he has done, as well as what he has pic's of in his ordering guide. Find something you would enjoy and enhance the interior of your home, cottage etc..
Old 02-10-2003, 08:58 PM

Im lucky, ive got a friend that I do a fair bit of waterfowling with he does nothing but waterfowl mounts. Ive only got a few done, a can, goldeneye, redhead, wigeon, and a couple woodies.