Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Waterfowl Hunting
 Duck hunting in East Texas..need help/advice >

Duck hunting in East Texas..need help/advice

Community
Waterfowl Hunting Receive the benefit of experienced duck and goose hunters in this waterfowl forum.

Duck hunting in East Texas..need help/advice

Old 08-04-2007, 07:18 AM

Default Duck hunting in East Texas..need help/advice

Hey Board,

Need some help with getting into duck hunting. I'm new to hunting and thought I'd give duck hunting a shot. I'm pretty serious about it. I've taken a second job to help foot the bill for some gear. I'll be hunting on the public lands around the state.
Questions:

1. Anybody duck hunt in the East Texas area? What types of ducks are the most commonly seen. (For buying decoys)
2. Considering on buying a Redhead Deluxe Layout blind. Anybody use one of these? (I thought this could also double for goose hunting down the road...just dress it up w/ some different scrub.)
3. Camo: Looking to buy a wader jacket & bibs.(Advantage Max 4 or Mossy Oak Duckblind?)

Thanks for any information/advice you can pass along.

Mignolafan
Old 08-04-2007, 11:38 AM

Default RE: Duck hunting in East Texas..need help/advice

when i use to live in texas we hunted in matagora bay
Old 08-04-2007, 01:44 PM

Thanks for the info. Do you remember what types of ducks you saw down there?

Thanks.
Old 08-10-2007, 01:03 AM
Fork Horn

Mallards, Widgeons(a few), occasional pintails, woodducks, coots(pouldoues), canvasbacks.
Old 08-11-2007, 08:24 AM

Thanks Doc

The info should come in handy. I went duck hunting once last season, we couldn't get the birds to turn our direction. I'm going to give it a shot on the public lands in the area. Do you live/hunt in the East Texas area yourself?

Thanks again,
Old 08-11-2007, 04:49 PM
Fork Horn