Community
Waterfowl Hunting Receive the benefit of experienced duck and goose hunters in this waterfowl forum.

Short Reed Goose Calls???

Old 03-29-2007, 11:20 PM
Fork Horn

Default Short Reed Goose Calls???

Im just getting into blowing a short reed call and all i have right now is a cheap Quack Head i am looking at buying a more expensive call in the off season and im just wondering if anyone has any suggestions.....
Old 03-30-2007, 04:34 AM

Default RE: Short Reed Goose Calls???

Probably one of the best sounding goose calls on the market today in my opinion are Sean Mann goose calls. They're relitively easy to blow and have the goose build right into them. I also like the Money Maker by Zink and Avery.
Old 03-30-2007, 06:11 AM
Typical Buck

My recommendation is to keep the GooseZilla and purchase a instructional CD or DVD and learn the basics of calling before going out and spending the money on a high end acrylic call. Think of it as learning to ride a bike. You can learn on any old bike then move up to a performance bike when you are ready. If you haven't blown a short reed in the past and you move up to a high end call. Your still gonna sound likea peacockbut louder and crisper. You might impress your hunting buddies that you ahev a hundred dollar call on your neck until they ask you to blow it.[:-]
In my opinion, the GooseZilla is the best call out there for the price. I blow one alot, probably more then I do any of my acrylics. They have a real goosey sound on the low end but can also get loud, fast,and high pitched with some tuning. Both acrylic calls and poly calls are going to sound the same the only diffrence is volume and crispness. If I was to walk away 30 ayrds and blow both of them you couldn't tell the diffrence.
Your GooseZilla is right where you need to be.
Old 03-30-2007, 07:10 PM
Nontypical Buck