Community
Waterfowl Hunting Receive the benefit of experienced duck and goose hunters in this waterfowl forum.

WaterFowl Loads

Old 01-13-2007, 05:00 PM
Typical Buck

Default WaterFowl Loads

This is my first year waterfowling,and I Freaking love it, I mean I'm addicted!!! I just have a problem finding the right load for my Browning Gold. I have tried a box of hevi shot and it worked better than any steel but is so darn expensive. I have heard alot of good things about Kent fast steel and was wondering what you experienced waterfowlers found to work the best. Im talking about takeing shots out to 40+ yards. Also, which choke tube is all round better for close and far shots, full or improved modified. Your help is appriciated!!!
Old 01-13-2007, 07:25 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: WaterFowl Loads

Yea Kent Fast Steel is a great load. I use 3" #4 out of a full choke, alot of people say thats too tight but belive me, its a deadly combo. It destroys ducks and will bring down geese if you aim to break wings like I do. I have also tried Remington High Speed Sportmans Steel and that works just fine aswell and at a cheaper price.

Now thinking thats its your first year I would try a more open choke like modified for awhile until you start to get the hang of shooting them. Try fast flying teal in the morning for some pratice.

Good Luck
Old 01-13-2007, 08:03 PM
Typical Buck

Thanks for the reply, I think I will give the Kent and Full Choke combination a try. Good Luck on the on coming hunting seasons, Put'm to the ground!!

Old 01-13-2007, 09:21 PM

Dont use any choke tighter than modified. Ive seen a couple pictures of what can happen with a full choke and steel,, not pretty. It CANrip the end of the barrel right off!

I use Fasteel 3" #2's at 1560 fps with a modified, keep all my shots under 35 yardsand very rarelyare follow-up shots required on ducks.