Community
Waterfowl Hunting Receive the benefit of experienced duck and goose hunters in this waterfowl forum.

new at waterfowl hunting

Old 08-27-2006, 04:27 PM

Default new at waterfowl hunting

this is my first year that i will be waterfowling and i need some heads ups because i don't know barely a thing about it. also wat ammo should i use and who sells chokes for a rossi? thanx
Old 08-28-2006, 06:43 PM

Default RE: new at waterfowl hunting

i can only tell you about how i started outso, use what advice you want andput the rest in storage.
ALWAYS!!!! wear a PFD when yer' in the boat! i never wear mine when i'm fishin', but when i duck hunt, i got wadders on, which will fill up w/ H2O and cause ya' to sink real quick!
i got me a row boat, an' some paint, an' dun up a real nice camo job on 'er in the g'rage. got a helluva buzz too.
got some burlap,the kind rich folks put around they'er bushes so they don't git cold in the winter, makes real nice blind material fer th' boat.
i did sort of a tie dye paint job on the burlap. after i got done puttin' out the decoys, i'd park the boat, an' cover 'er up w/ the burlap. i never hunt out of the boat, it just gits me to where i wanna be huntin'.
i git me a 5 Gal. bucket an' drill some holes in the bottom, so's it sinks, an' have a seat. at this point, while still dark, i'm tryin' to remember how many decoys i put out.
git one of them head mouted led lights. be'in able to see helps.
the guy who dies with the most decoys don't alway win, sometimes sixor ten will do it. i got the "hot buy" decoys from cabela's made by greenhead, they look great, cheap too, 30.00 fer 12
good enough fer now,stay on this site, yer' able to learn more from folks alot smarter than me.
Old 08-29-2006, 12:43 AM
Typical Buck