Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Classifieds > Wanted
 first timer - which gun? >

first timer - which gun?

Wanted Post your ad here and let us help you find what you're looking for.

first timer - which gun?

Old 04-12-2005, 11:34 AM

Default first timer - which gun?

im new to hunting, can someone give me some info about what gun i should get. Im going to be shooting rabbits and planning on buying second hand.
Old 04-12-2005, 03:33 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: first timer - which gun?

Buy a remington 870 express with a 3" chamber - just get the matte black with walnut stock. Even new, they're really cheap. Make sure that you go with a 12 gauge (it's the most common, with lots of cheap ammo available).

I think they offered a few packages that came with a rifled slug barrel and a smoothbore shotgun barrel - if you can find one used, it would be ideal.

It's indestructible and you can shoot slugs with it if you want to hunt deer or other big game.

I started out with one, used it mainly for rabbits/squirrels, then I used it for spring gobblers, and I even killed a few deer with it. Very effective and user-friendly.

I'd look for one with interchangeable chokes (you'll learn more about this over time).

To start off with, I'd look for the 26-28" barrel. I think the factory gun comes with a Modified choke, which is also fine for small game.

Anybody else have any suggestions??
Old 04-13-2005, 11:21 AM

it looks gr8 but im from england and it seems quite hard to find any for sale, ill keep lookin tho. Also, what is the difference with longer barrels rather than shorter barrels?
Old 04-13-2005, 01:08 PM
Giant Nontypical

Hmm...

I can't help you with what may/may not be available to ya, but I can give you a little help.

Winchester, Remington, Browning, Ithaca and Benelli are good brands, and even their older models are pretty high quality.