Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Upland Bird Hunting
 What is the ultimate upland bird????? >

What is the ultimate upland bird?????

Community
Upland Bird Hunting Whether you are into pheasants or grouse, quail or chukars, find out what you need to know here.

What is the ultimate upland bird?????

Old 08-03-2003, 08:10 AM
Typical Buck

Default What is the ultimate upland bird?????

OK. So what does everyone like to hunt most? What is the greatest gamebird of them all? Why?

Although I am a chukar hunter by trade, I must admit that to me the greatest of all gamebirds is the gray (Hungarian) partridge. They form large coveys, live in open country, and are the spookiest, most difficult birds for a dog to handle. They also hold for a pointing dog like ticks to a deer' s ear.

Huns are also very unforgiving of sloppy dog work. I have seen coveys that will get up when a careless dog is still 100 yards away.

If you have a dog that can find, point and hold late-season, highly-pressured huns well enough that you can get a shot at them, you have a pretty damn good bird dog.

As a bonus, huns are also about the best-tasting bird there is.

Old 08-03-2003, 09:38 AM

Default RE: What is the ultimate upland bird?????

my part of the mid west it' s the Ruff Grouse but I think a ultimatechallenge is the old Timberdoodle a.k.a. woodcock and mighty tasty in it' s own right...
Old 08-03-2003, 01:35 PM

Seattle, I have to say Ruffed Grouse, and disagree on two points. 1- I think the hardest dog to make is a good Grouse dog. (IMHO) 2- Grouse taste the best.
Regards

Michael
Old 08-03-2003, 01:39 PM

Rebel wolf,