Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Upland Bird Hunting
Need help choosing a beeper collar. >

Need help choosing a beeper collar.

Community
Upland Bird Hunting Whether you are into pheasants or grouse, quail or chukars, find out what you need to know here.

Need help choosing a beeper collar.

Old 02-24-2011, 08:26 AM
Typical Buck

Default Need help choosing a beeper collar.

I am in the market of buying a beeper caller for my 8 month old GSH pointer. I am fairly new to bird hunting but remember an old friend of mine using one on his bird dog. It would beep every so often until the dog locked on point and then it would beep continuously. I hunt out here in the East and its thick and hilly terrain so I want to be able to tell when my dog locks up, even if I cannot see her.

I have checked on line at several different models, but wanted some input from you all that use them as I know experience is valuable. I have seen some with remote controls and some without and not sure what the benefit of the remote control is. Any info would be greatly appreciated.
Old 02-24-2011, 11:30 AM
JW
Super Moderator

I am a gadgt guy and have used several. My current beeper is a G3 Upland Tri-Tronics collar/beeper combo where I can shut the beeper off remotely.
The second collar my dogs wear is an Garmin Astro DC30 GPS collar.

Why 2?
Well I am partially deaf and can hear the TT beeper but when on point I am directionaly disfunctional. that means I do not go necesarily in the right direction to the dog. Garmin DC30 helps me get there as it is a tracking device. My hand held GPS unit shows me where I am and where all my dogs are even buddies dogs if I have porammed their DC30 collars in my unit,. I even leave and old DC20 unit on the dash of my truck so my truck is always marked.

I like the fact I have an e-collar too if needed and is why the TT G3 Upland.