Community
Upland Bird Hunting Whether you are into pheasants or grouse, quail or chukars, find out what you need to know here.

12 or 20

Old 03-07-2006, 10:03 AM
Typical Buck

Default 12 or 20

im going to be buying a O/U soon. most of my hunting will be for grouse and pheasants. now what should i go for a 12ga or a 20ga
thanks
Old 03-07-2006, 02:17 PM

Default RE: 12 or 20

I've been shooting a 20 since 1987. I find a 20 just as deadly on grouse and pheasant as any 12. It's a matter of the right load, choke and ability to hit the target. In fact, the only difference between a 12 and a 20 is the amount of shot it puts in the sky. Hitting the target is completely up to you.

I think you'll find that after shooting a 20 you'll wonder why you waited so long to switch to a 20. A 12 will feel cumbersome in your hands.
Just my personnel opinion.
Old 03-08-2006, 06:43 AM

I'll through my .02 in for the 20 in o/u. For pheasant and grouse it's plenty of gun, easy to carry and fun to shoot.I personally would go the 12 only if you wanted to use it for waterfowl to. I like my pump 12 for that as I have used that 3rd shell to many times and some of those ducks and geese seem to be able to eat up shot.
Old 03-08-2006, 07:07 AM

I would say go with the 20g, but the most important thing is to shoot the gun you shoot best. Any gun that puts the pellets where you want them will yeild the results you desire, which is birds dropping from the sky. 20's are nice. More often than not I carry my 20. I have also taken a lot of game with my 28g, pheasants included.