Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Turkey Hunting
 How do I field dress a turkey? >

How do I field dress a turkey?

Community
Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

How do I field dress a turkey?

Old 03-29-2004, 09:02 PM

Default How do I field dress a turkey?

i am new to turkey hunting. i have deer hunted for several years and can field dress a deer, but i would not know where to begin on a turkey. could you guys help me out on this one?
Old 03-29-2004, 09:25 PM
Fork Horn

Default RE: How do I field dress a turkey?

this would come in handy for me too! i am not sure if it's like other birds or a little different...
Old 03-30-2004, 04:08 AM
JW
Super Moderator

At the base of the bird's breast you make the cut.

Feel for where the breast bone stops and the stomach muscle starts. This is the soft area that a small cut can be made but not too deep. I slice from the base of the breast bone just short of the annus. Don't cut into the vital area but just slice the skin. You shold be able to pinch this skin and it will help you on how deep to cut.

Innards can be then pulled out with very little mess.

As stated before as I forgot to add it....I do carry ice packs that if it is hot I shove into the cavity to cool the bird quickly.

this is how I clean a turkey and I usually do this quickly if I do not need to register the bird. If i do I do gut it after registration or do this as I don't have to gut it.

http://forum.hunting.net/asppg/tm.asp?m=579399

JW!
Old 03-30-2004, 11:09 AM

Alright guys here it comes!