Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Turkey Hunting
 Calling while scouting?? >

Calling while scouting??

Community
Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

Calling while scouting??

Old 03-27-2004, 08:36 AM
Boone & Crockett

Default Calling while scouting??

I was just reading TR Michaels scouting report on his page,and he calls Turkey's from the road before season the season starts. He states he feels it has no adverse effect on the birds in his area. Say's he has been doing a study for four years that show's it doesn't effect the birds.

I'm relatively new to Turkey hunting and have been told this is a big no-no. Any thoughts.
Old 03-27-2004, 10:13 AM

Default RE: Calling while scouting??

I read an an article by Ray Eye that said the same thing.It stressed that it was ok to call to locate them but not to call them in and spook em.
Old 03-27-2004, 10:22 AM
Nontypical Buck

You'll never..never....never....never.....find me with a Turkey call while I'm pre-scouting. Fact..as soon as I get a gobble from a locater...I'm outta there....unless I'm trying to pattern em to see what area their headed to
Old 03-27-2004, 12:34 PM

I dont understand what the use of using a turkey call to locate them is. Last time I checked I used turkey calls to CALL the turkey in to my location. Why would I risk educating a gobbler (calling them to a spot no hens around or meeting a hen halfway that never shows up). When you call a turkey in during season you un-educate them by pulling the trigger. I have a ton of locator calls that are made for locating and wont CALL a turkey in. I Just dont understand the point of using turkey calls.
Old 03-27-2004, 12:58 PM

I only use locator calls or make a loud a$$ noise to try to get a shock gobble.
Old 03-27-2004, 05:59 PM
Nontypical Buck

Charlie,