Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Turkey Hunting
Turkey Noob Needs Advice >

Turkey Noob Needs Advice

Community
Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

Turkey Noob Needs Advice

Old 03-03-2017, 08:27 AM
Spike

Default Turkey Noob Needs Advice

Long time hunter, total newbie when it comes to turkeys. Just bought 20 GA Rem 870 Exp. Now shopping for ammo and choke tube. The guy in this 2009/05/bourjaily-my-20-gauge-turkey-gun article recommends Federals Flitecontrol Heavyweight ammunition, holding a full 1 1/ 2 ounces of very dense tungsten-iron 6 shot in Federal's Flitecontrol wad and Hunters Specialties Undertaker choke tube. Any and all advice greatly appreciated by this newcomer to the turkey game.
Old 03-03-2017, 10:30 AM
Nontypical Buck

Every shotgun is a law onto itself. It's virtually impossible to predict with any degree of certainty that a particular load or brand of load will pattern best in your gun with your choke. You'll need to try different combinations for yourself. For instance, my gun will pattern #4's pretty much the same as #6's, but I can't find any #5 loads that will pattern consistently at all. I also learned my gun definitely patterns better with a clean barrel. So, at the range, I swab out my barrel between shots to make sure I'm comparing apples to apples. There is no shortcut to doing the homework.
Old 03-03-2017, 11:03 AM
Typical Buck

You need to go to oldgobbler.com and they have an excellent forum spot for different guns, chokes, shells, ect. It will help you directed in the right direction with hunters who have already tried the different combo's. Ya not all guns shoot the same but this place is great and takes some of the guess work out of it, plus chokes aren't cheap. They can answer you questions.
Old 03-03-2017, 11:26 AM
Nontypical Buck

Originally Posted by turkey harvester