Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Turkey Hunting
7 1/2 shot size questions >

7 1/2 shot size questions

Community
Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

7 1/2 shot size questions

Old 04-05-2015, 02:49 PM
Spike

Default 7 1/2 shot size questions

I'm new to turkey hunting and wanting to give it a try this spring. Here in Ohio our season starts the 20th so I was patterning my old SxS today. I was shooting pop cans assuming they're close to the same size as a trukeys head. At 35yrds through a full choke 6 shot gave me about 10 pellets in the can while 7 1/2 gave me about 30. My question is will 7 1/2 carry enough velocity to dispatch a turkey at 35yrds? Or should I go pick up some "turkey" shells. It'll be pretty much wide open shots not much brush. Also any recommendations on calls? And what kind of plan should I use to nab a turkey? I'm hunting on 70 acres in southern Ohio there's about a 50 acre hay field surrounded by old growth woods with a stream and a pond running down the one side. Any help would be appreciateated, thanks
Old 04-05-2015, 06:21 PM
Giant Nontypical

First buy two extra full extended Turkey chokes, and pattern them with your #6 shot.

http://www.trulockchokes.com/turkey-...2416a239872f4a
Old 04-06-2015, 02:04 AM
Nontypical Buck

Originally Posted by sbrumfield1
My question is will 7 1/2 carry enough velocity to dispatch a turkey at 35yrds?
No. Get yourself some turkey loads.

A slate or box call is easy to use. And right off the bat you'll sound like a turkey.
Old 04-06-2015, 03:06 AM
Fork Horn

I personally prefer 4 or 5 shot. But that's just me
Old 04-07-2015, 01:47 PM
Nontypical Buck

Check your gun before putting a modern turkey load in it!