Community
Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

New to turkey hunting

Old 04-26-2014, 04:07 AM
Fork Horn

Default New to turkey hunting

I am new to turkey hunting and Have a few questions. I have been scouting a property, that I deer hunt, for a few weeks in a river bottom area of Maine. I have seen toms at top of hill in the timber crossing the road. About 500yards through the timber and down by the river there is a field where I saw a lot of toms last year at mid season. Where should I hunt? Should I use decoys right away or is there a phase or time when it is best to use decoys?
Thanks
Old 04-26-2014, 08:31 AM
Boone & Crockett

I would try and locate the way they most travel to and from there. If you can find their route set up with a hen or to back around 25 yard or so. I would not be using a tom or jake there just yet. Do a call or 2 and just wait. They will hear you if they are traveling threw there and then it is a big waiting game. Just make sure you have a spot where you can see them if they come in and a place to help keep you under cover.. Good Luck on getting a bird..
Old 04-26-2014, 04:23 PM
Fork Horn

croc2116,

First, good luck out there Monday. I personally like
hunting in the woods. If you can find an open area
in the woods near where you have seen the toms
crossing that might be a good spot to set up and
try calling. It should be a place where you have
good visibility for 60 yards or so, so the bird is not
right on top of you when you see him. Pick a big tree
to sit against so you can be comfortable and preferably
in the shade.

Second, best think you can do is get out there before
daylight and figure out where they are roosting and
where they go after they fly down, they started
gobbling around 4:45 this morning and flew down
around 5:30.

Third , once that field starts to green up , they
should be using it.
Old 04-26-2014, 04:32 PM
Typical Buck