Community
Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

Turkeys in the rain?

Old 05-14-2013, 04:43 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default Turkeys in the rain?

I am fairly new to turkye hunting. I've sat through two youth turkey kills, but all the calling/smarts was provided via a friend.

Now I am trying on my own, I've had decent luck calling where I hunt and usually get a bird worked up.

Last weekend, mothers day, my wife floored me by asking me to take her turkey hunting, so off we went. It was raining off and on, but it was also the first day in 5 outings that I couldn't get a bird to respond, or even hear one far off.

Does rain effect the birds or was it just an off day?
Old 05-14-2013, 06:03 AM
Typical Buck

Bob sometimes chasing critters is like Yoggi Berra once said, "Ya don't know what ya don't know!" that being sometimes WHO KNOWS why the heck they act like they do?

But after nearly 3 decades of chasing turkeys, when it comes to rain I've come to believe that they don't "usually" make ALOT of noise in a steady to hard down pour. Now a light sprinkle, mist or intermittent rain usually doesn't bother them much. Also, rain dampens the woods so that the ground, leaves & foliage actually absorb sound vs bounce it around as it does when dry. That sometimes is the reason you'll think they just didn't gobble as much one day when perhaps they did but conditions for hearing them just weren't favorable.

Gusty or sustained winds also make hearing very hard. Plus, turkeys just flat out DONT like windy conditions because it makes their world "constantly move" which jeopardizes their 2 best defenses, their sight & hearing. In a steady rain I've come to realize that many turkeys like to stay in open areas like food plots, pastures, power line/gas line right of ways, mature hardwoods etc... They can at least see the approach of any danger in such open areas.