Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

Beginning turkey hunter

Old 01-01-2013, 01:38 PM
Spike

Default Beginning turkey hunter

I want to start hunting turkey and have no idea on what to get. What is a good decoy to get and how many. I heard that Buckwing Bobb'n head LifeLite are good. what kind of call or yelper to get. Is there a dvd on turkey hunting that shows you how to hunt and not showing somebody else hunting. Any help would be appreciated.
Old 01-03-2013, 05:15 AM
Fork Horn

Just my $.02, but if you want to cut the learning curve, the best thing to do is try to hook up with an experienced turkey hunter, and tag along on a few hunts.

If you want to be self-taught, I'd recommend reading as much as you can before the season starts, and try to do some scouting. I wouldn't get too crazy with gear until you decide if it's for you or not, a simple box or slate call, a shotgun with an extra full choke, and comouflage from head to toe, including gloves & a facemask.

Hope this helps, & good luck!
Old 01-04-2013, 08:43 AM
Typical Buck

I agree with Ole Uncle, dont go hog wild yet. Read what you can and all you can. Turkey hunting videos are ok, but most turkeys dont act like that, their harder to kill than on video. Simplify your calls and your shotgun. Dont need a $1000 shotgun to kill a bird. Same on your decoys, if he's close enough to see your decoy isn;t real then its time to give him a dirt nap. Practice calling but remember sometimes its better to just shut up. Pick good locations for calling, dont over call, and learn from every mistake. Good Luck
Old 01-04-2013, 11:01 AM
Typical Buck

And if you can't find a mentor, this book is a good place to start:
http://www.amazon.com/Turkey-Hunting...rkey+hunting#_
It's an easy read, informative, and interesting
====