Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

Last Hunt of the Season

Old 05-14-2012, 05:37 PM
Spike

Default Last Hunt of the Season

Here is a tale. All 100% factual and unbelievable.

It was a turkey hunting scene made for TV.

The decoys were in the field, I was in the blind overlooking a secluded 175 yard long field on a sunny, 72 degree afternoon.

The bird gobbled once. The gobble was loud. I knew he was in the field.

The field is laid out perfect. The North end is a hill top. Any Tom that walked out on the North end of the field would see the decoys on the lower South end. And I knew the bird frequented that hill top. I studied and listened. I did my homework. The work was about to pay off.

The bird was silent for about 4 minutes. But not much longer. Gobbled once again. And then he was hooked. He gobbled at a interval of about 30 seconds. He started fanning and slowly making his was down the hill on a bee line for the decoys. Puffed up and fanning. Gobbling like crazy. By all appearances, the bird is an older bird. Dark as coal. Rich colors on his head.

The hunt on that day was on the public grounds at a large reservoir. Brookville reservoir is a 16,000+ acre body of water. It is a popular destination for boaters. The water was definitely crowded.

The bird hadn’t departed from his path. He was coming straight in. At first sight he was about 110 yards away. Then he was at 80 yards.

Back to the reservoir… in the background, to the East, I heard a boat engine rumbling to a stop near the shore, over 500 yards away to the best of my knowledge. From a sound system that would put a big city thug’s stereo system to shame: