Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

New to turkey hunting

Old 02-15-2012, 09:59 AM
Spike

Exclamation New to turkey hunting

Hi this is my first year hunting turkey. And I need some tips on this up comin hunt I know what gun I am using a side by side savage 12gauge but I have no calls and no experience with calling or hunting a turkey anny suggestions on the calls please no (mouth calls)
Old 02-15-2012, 10:22 AM
Fork Horn

Pattern your gun. Find your comfortable kill range.
Friction calls are easy and inexpensive. Stay away from custom calls. H.S. Strut, Knight and Hale, Madd, will all get the job done.
Get DVD's, read as much as you can, talk to veteran hunters if you can. Even better, go with a verteran Turkey hunter if you can. That's just scratchin' the surface.
Old 02-15-2012, 10:33 AM
Typical Buck

How long have you been hunting all other game? I ask because you just don't "go" turkey hunting. I suggest you start by checking out the safety thread listed at the top of the main turkey hunting forums page.
Old 02-15-2012, 12:17 PM
Nontypical Buck

Just start reading this forum. It is loaded with the info you're looking for.
Old 02-15-2012, 01:14 PM
Spike

thanks I normally hunt deer
Old 02-15-2012, 01:23 PM
Super Moderator

Baldeagle,

You can just "GO" turkey hunting. It may not yield the best results, but you can get turkeys that way! Deer toe, I posted a call question last week and got some great responses and help. Look that thread up!
-Jake
Old 02-15-2012, 01:51 PM
Typical Buck

Hardest part of calling. Is not calling.
Putting that slate down and waiting.
Watching videos help to hear what the different calls sound like,
But remember its a video, so they may be calling every 5 mins on the video, and not showing the pauses in between. but in reality, they are waiting 15-30 mins between calls.