Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Turkey Hunting
Question about shot size regulation >

Question about shot size regulation

Community
Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

Question about shot size regulation

Old 04-08-2011, 03:30 PM
Spike

Default Question about shot size regulation

Sorry for the stupid question but I am new to using shotguns so I am still learning about shot size, chokes, etc. I plan to go turkey hunting tomorrow for the first time and was gathering all of my stuff together and rechecked the regs and came across this :
No restrictions on shot size except for spring gobbler season when it is unlawful to have any shot in possession larger than number 2 fine shot while hunting.
I am not sure what this means. What I have are #5 shot 3" mag turkey loads. Is this saying that I can not use the shells that I have? Sorry for the newbie question but I need help understanding it.
Thanks,
T
Old 04-08-2011, 03:43 PM
Spike

#5 is smaller than #2
Old 04-08-2011, 04:09 PM
Nontypical Buck

The larger the number, the smaller the diameter of the pellet. #8's are tiny, 00 is about .32 inches in diameter.
Old 04-08-2011, 04:23 PM
Spike

You're good to go. The number 5 shot is ok and is the same that I use and will be using tomorrow in a 3 1/2 inch magnum. I also am a SW Va hunter and will be out there tomorrow morning. Good luck! But most of all be patient.
Old 04-08-2011, 05:31 PM
Spike

Originally Posted by Ridge Runner
doesn't know how big a number 5 is, or whether its legal and he's going turkey hunting? ahh the internet age!