Community
Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

Turkey hunting help

Old 03-26-2011, 07:11 PM
Spike

Default Turkey hunting help

Hey I'm new to this forum and I need some help. So I live in placer county california and I want to hunt turkeys I have no clue what I need . All I have is a juniors hunting license. So If you guys could help that would be great. Thanks -jake
Old 03-26-2011, 07:50 PM
Spike

I would suggest looking on youtube for tips and the basics i would start out simple a slate call or a box or even a tube call would be easy to learn and the quickest mabye a ground blind a couple of decoys a bunch of camo but im no expert hope this helps
Old 03-27-2011, 08:11 AM
Typical Buck

Hi Jake! Welcome to the Turkey Forum and the wonderful obsession of turkey hunting!!!

There are some really great resources on this forum. Check out the tips/tactics section on this forum. TONS of great info there.

Ideally, it's great to have someone to take you out. But like me, I didn't have anyone. I had to take what I learned here (LOTS of people helped me!!!), in books, from TV and NWTF website and work it out. You may fumble through your first season and make mistakes - but that's how you LEARN and return for your REVENGE!!! LOL

Do you have a good place to hunt? Have you done any scouting there? When does your season open?

If you don't have any calls - a basic pot call is usually easiest to learn. There is a great thread in the tips/tactics section that explains the different types. What gun are you shooting? (choke tube, shot, etc.)

A blind is a great investment... They allow you to get in the action without getting busted so easily. If a turkey see's you move - game over.

Find a place to hunt, Scout and find the turkeys, have a shotgun that you know it's capabilities, Learn the basic calls and prepare yourself to have LOTS of patience.