Community
Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

Up close and personal

Old 04-22-2010, 03:09 AM
Nontypical Buck

Red face Up close and personal

Left work for an evening hunt was at my spot in 30 min. set up a few decoys 15 yards in front of me. I decided to hunt in the same spot I finished out my Deer season Jan. 2nd. Made one call with slate call then with my mouth call, one gobble then dead silence for 10 min. First thing I heard was a sound I had never experienced in the wild before "This is my first year hunting Turkey" and it spooked me good. That Tom had come up behind me about 5 to 6 ft. away and was faning and shaking his tail right behind me.I was facing at 12 o'clock he moved to 3 on my right about 10ft. away all the while eyeing the decoys from the brush we were in. I really did not know what to do other than be as still as a bush and try not to let him see my eyes. He moved right to the edge of the brush all the time looking it seemed right at me,what a RUSH! I have not felt the pump sence I took my Deer last year,it was great. These birds are a sight to behold at close range,simply awesome to watch them do thier little dance. Well I waited for him to move closer to the decoys to get a shot but he backed up turned right and moved away only to cross the field and go away from me. If anyone can give some insight or pointers to help me seal the deal next time I would appreciate it I'm not sure If I did anything wrong or if this is a common thing when hunting these birds. Back out tonight for another try. Good Hunting All!
Old 04-22-2010, 03:17 AM
Nontypical Buck

The sound you heard was the tom "spitting and drumming". It is not uncommon as it's part of their mating display.