Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Turkey Hunting
Mid Morning Hunting Tactics and Success >

Mid Morning Hunting Tactics and Success

Community
Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

Mid Morning Hunting Tactics and Success

Old 03-30-2010, 08:48 AM
Fork Horn

Default Mid Morning Hunting Tactics and Success

Let me start by saying this is partly me wanting to vent, and partly me wanted some advice. That said, I just switched jobs and with the hours I work I wont be able to hunt any day this season until 10a.m. Now I'm in NY where you can only hunt until noon. I'm one of those guys who absolutely loves sneaking in on a gobbler on roost and hearing him bellow until he flies down, then working him afterwards. I've been hunting for about 8 years with some great success. However, I admit I am...... well was, one of those guys who went out before sun rise, found a bird on roost, hunted that bird in the A.M. either until I killed him or he worked off and then I would head back home. This year I wont be able to get in the woods until 10, like I said. I have been reading articles about how hunting is "the best" and "easier" (if such a thing) mid morning because of the toms being lonely while the hens are off laying eggs. I was just hoping for some reinsurance on this and any tips you all have. Thank so much!
Old 03-30-2010, 09:35 AM
Typical Buck

Experience has taught me that turkeys seem more receptive to calling in the mid/late morning timeframe. I think they expect to gobble up some hens from the roost or soon after flydown and don't come in most times because of that. Not every turkey, obviously, as I and you have killed many turkeys just after flydown.