Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Turkey Hunting
Turkey Calling Contest questions >

Turkey Calling Contest questions

Community
Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

Turkey Calling Contest questions

Old 02-09-2010, 12:53 PM
Spike

Default Turkey Calling Contest questions

I have been turkey hunting for several years now and I think I want to try the contest thing. I haven't got to go to very many contest but I am just curious to know if it is better to use a real raspy diaphragm call or one that is not so much? I assume it's just one your comfortable with but i'm very new to the contest and am not real sure. Do you guys know if there are any contest videos out there so I can kinda check things out? I looked on you tube but there isn't much on there.
Old 02-09-2010, 04:46 PM
Typical Buck

I'm not the most experienced contest caller, I'll say that up front. Take this advice for what it is worth.

My best friend competed in the NWTF Grand National final for several years in the 80s and 90s and I went with him to some of those events. He taught me to call and we hunted a lot together before he tragically passed away in 1997. I competed in the amateur division of the Tennessee State contest last year finishing 3rd and my son (Doall hunter here on these boards) placed 4th in Tennessee in the junior division. Because of my proximity to Nashville I usually attend the NWTF convention each year and listen to those guys compete.