Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

Michigan early or late season?

Old 12-28-2008, 09:04 AM
Spike

Default Michigan early or late season?

This is my 2nd year turkey hunting. I hunted Michigan's early season last year. (April 20 - May 3) I could always get toms to gobble, but not come in. They seemed to be really henned-up. Every one I saw was with half a dozenhens and not interested in me. I was wondering if I might have better luck in the late season. (May 4 -10 or May 11 -31) I'm new to this whole turkey thing, so any advice would be helpful. I was also told to try a jake and hen decoys. I used 2 henslast seasonbut will probably buy and jake for this spring.
Old 12-28-2008, 09:17 AM
JW
Super Moderator

Default RE: Michigan early or late season?

Spark _ I have hunted Michigan for more than 20 years and we go after 1st season. Yes at times the Toms are henned up but we do several things.

1. We pattern Toms and try to be in their strut area before the hens get to them.
2. If we miss that we go back or just stay later in the day and wait for the Tom to be alone - no hens
3. Jake decoy has not worked for us at all - but a Strutting Tom decoy has.

My partner is at 98% while I am at 92% - which means - Ya we did not get a bird every year - but one of us always do!

Now if you the time the 265 season which allows you to hunt the whole month of May and is a good deal. But we just don't have the time.

Looking at our journal we have hunted at times in both Months of April and May and have scored. The real key issue is to have a consistent pattern of where the Tom wants to be.

JW
Old 12-28-2008, 07:39 PM
Fork Horn