Community
Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

Hello everyone!!

Old 03-05-2003, 11:14 AM
Fork Horn

Default Hello everyone!!

Hello everyone!!! I' m a new member to HuntingNet, which is a really great site!!!!
I am also new to hunting as well. My first hunting experience was last turkey season, spring 2002! Didn' t get a bird!!! My brother wanted me to start hunting and we went turkey hunting last year together, that was our first time turkey hunting!! It was one wet weekend, rained to whole weekend...!!! Didn' t get to scout before the hunt either!!! We only had that one weekend to hunt also!! This year we plan to hunt as much as we can!!

This year we were hunting rabbits and seen alot of turkeys, to bad they weren' t rabbits...!!! We are hoping to do some scouting soon!! Can anyone give us some hunting tips or strategies to get those gobblers?? What should we do and what should we not do?? What are some calls we should have?? We have a slate call, which we used last year!! Any help will be great!!!

Thanks,
the_outlaw
Old 03-05-2003, 11:56 AM
Fork Horn

Default RE: Hello everyone!!

welcome to huntingnet
Old 03-05-2003, 12:08 PM

Read everything you can about turkey hunting and review this site alot. Ive been
turkeyhunting for 20 plus years and I still learn alot from these die hards. IVe probally learned more on this site than out of any turkey magazine.
My advice: collect several turkey calls. box calls and friction calls tend to be easier
calls to start with. Dont call too much or too loud. And remember, Gobblers dont always gobble when they are coming to you. Very important, read about turkey
behavior so you will understand the different phases of a turkeys day. Same as you would learn the habits of deer for deer hunting. (different phases of the rut,