Community
Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

turkey calling

Old 03-03-2003, 11:00 AM

Default turkey calling

When you first get into the field what calls do you use and when? When do you use certain calls and at what time? If you get a gobble to answer you right away, do you call again or just stop and wait?
Old 03-03-2003, 04:46 PM

Default RE: turkey calling

if you dont know which or what, pick a call(one that your good at) and start off with some soft yelps. if you get a reponse give a couple more so the tom can zero in on you and shut up. if you done your scouting, an know you got turkeys around, somebodys gonna say somethin. im new at this and i am gonna rely on a decoy or two, but i aint gonna call too hard (i hope)
Old 03-03-2003, 05:06 PM

if u r just seting up on a field i would use decoys the work well yelp softly a few times if no responce cluck a few times and yelp afterwards louder than the first time if u c a turkey amnd he is comeing shut up!!!!!!!!1 and let him come
Old 03-04-2003, 10:03 AM

If the birds are still on the roost i will do a soft tree yelp and be quiet until flydown time. Then I will do a flydown cackle. If I get a good response I' ll start with some excited yelps. Every situation is different but this is the normal start to my day.
I only call enough to keep[ the gobbler coming. If he is with hens i will try to make the hens mad by mixing some cutts with the yelps. If you hear the hens getting excited. Try to copy them but increase the volume. I have pulled in several hens this way with a gobbler in tow.[:-]
Old 03-04-2003, 04:54 PM

I start off with a few soft yelps and then gradually get a little louder, but not much. I call very little too. If i hear a gobble, i wait awhile and yelp a little more. I started doing this last season and called in more birds then any of the other years ive turkey hunted.
Old 03-04-2003, 05:32 PM