Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Turkey Hunting
 Can you pattern turkeys?? >

Can you pattern turkeys??

Community
Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

Can you pattern turkeys??

Old 04-07-2008, 10:09 AM
Fork Horn

Default Can you pattern turkeys??

I am pretty new to turkey hunting and this spring will be my first real attempt at chasing gobblers. I was just curious if you can pattern turkeys similar to the way you can deer? I just acquired a new piece of property to hunt and went out to watch it from a distance this weekend. I saw a large group of turkeys in the same general area around 1.5 hours before sunset two days in a row. Im just curious if this is a coincidence or is this a spot that they have been visiting regularly? Any help would be great. Thanks
Old 04-07-2008, 10:55 AM
Fork Horn

Default RE: Can you pattern turkeys??

Absolutely.
Old 04-07-2008, 10:56 AM
Fork Horn

Absolutely.
Sorry for the double post.
Old 04-07-2008, 10:56 AM
Typical Buck

Yes you can, but be prepared for it to change at any moment for no particular reason. I start doing my scouting now and try to get out before daybreak and find where the birds are roosting. I will do this several times before my season starts on April 23rd. But if the birds are busted by a coyote or a person late in the evening they will roost somewhere else. I would get out early to the spot you are seeing these birds late in the day and listen and find them on the roost, then slip out with out them seeing you. If you find them in the same general spot a few days, that would be where I set up in the morning.
Old 04-07-2008, 11:10 AM