Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Turkey Hunting
 Favorite Slate and Box Call >

Favorite Slate and Box Call

Community
Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

Favorite Slate and Box Call

Old 03-27-2008, 10:08 AM
Spike

Default Favorite Slate and Box Call

Hello

I am new to turkey hunting and would like to know what your favorite Slate and Box Calls are. Aside from custom calls what do you guys like. I am heading to Cabelas/Bass Pro this weekend and would like to purchase a good slate and box call. I am thinking about a Lynch Fool Proof Box call and a Knight and Hale Yella Hammer Slate call. What's your thoughts on these two calls? I would like to know what your thoughts are.

Thanks

Old 03-27-2008, 10:15 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Favorite Slate and Box Call

I have used an Ol' Yeller slate for 3 years now (i think its a knight and hale) and I have an old Lynch's world champion box call. I use the ol yeller 90% of the time and resort to the box for locating and high wind situations.
Old 03-27-2008, 11:28 AM
Fork Horn

Another vote forOle Yeller, same as King. Great price, user friendly, and sounds great. For a box I use Woods Wise Raspy Hen.
Old 03-27-2008, 11:35 AM
Giant Nontypical

ORIGINAL: Absolute Giant

Hello

I am new to turkey hunting and would like to know what your favorite Slate and Box Calls are. Aside from custom calls what do you guys like. I am heading to Cabelas/Bass Pro this weekend and would like to purchase a good slate and box call. I am thinking about a Lynch Fool Proof Box call and a Knight and Hale Yella Hammer Slate call. What's your thoughts on these two calls? I would like to know what your thoughts are.

Thanks