Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Turkey Hunting
 will a patternmaster work for turkey? >

will a patternmaster work for turkey?

Community
Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

will a patternmaster work for turkey?

Old 03-10-2008, 08:28 PM
Fork Horn

Default will a patternmaster work for turkey?

im new to hunting turkey with a gun, have always used a bow.. i have a 870 super magnum with a 28" barrel ( its my waterfowl gun) with a extended range patternmaster choke tube (designed for 3 1/2 shells) i use it on geese with great results, but the pattern on geese is large and in charge to cover a wide area at 40yards.. its a tight pattern for waterfowl, but is it tight enough for turkey at ranges around or past 40 yards....

wat r ur thoughts

Old 03-10-2008, 09:16 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: will a patternmaster work for turkey?

ive shot many 40yard turkeys with 2 3/4" modified and like you i used my duck gun, id suggest if you have screw-in chokes to get a full or extra-full but you should be fine just remember you might ge pellets in the body if you shoot that far away, the best thing i can tell you is let them get to 20-30 yards if you can but i never hesitated takeing the 40+ yard shot, and if your useing hevi's ive shot a turkey at 56yards(measured it) and it stoned the bird
Old 03-10-2008, 09:33 PM
Nontypical Buck

ORIGINAL: huntnteen

ive shot many 40yard turkeys with 2 3/4" modified and like you i used my duck gun, id suggest if you have screw-in chokes to get a full or extra-full but you should be fine just remember you might ge pellets in the body if you shoot that far away, the best thing i can tell you is let them get to 20-30 yards if you can but i never hesitated takeing the 40+ yard shot, and if your useing hevi's ive shot a turkey at 56yards(measured it) and it stoned the bird