Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Turkey Hunting
 New shotgun and barrel length?? >

New shotgun and barrel length??

Community
Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

New shotgun and barrel length??

Old 03-10-2008, 09:34 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default New shotgun and barrel length??

Ok guys I need some help. I've been deer hunting for a long, long time but I'm getting into my first turkey season in a few weeks. I currently own a 20 ga Mossberg with interchangeble chokes. Typically I use it for doves and an occasional squirrel. If push comes to shove, I will use it for turkeys but I really wanted to get a gobbler-specific gun. I'm looking at a Mossberg 835 12 ga along with a few others. What recomendations do ya'll have? What barrel length is ideal? I'm not trying to spend a ton of money since I'm just getting started. Thanks in advance for all your tips and help!!
Old 03-10-2008, 10:03 AM
Typical Buck

Default RE: New shotgun and barrel length??

I have two 835's both with 28" barrels. One wood and one camo syn. The syn one kicks like a mule, the wood is very pleasant to shoot. If I was getting a turkey only shotgun, it would probably be a 835 with a 24" tube, camo, and tri-viz sights.
Old 03-10-2008, 10:07 AM
Typical Buck

The trend seems to be 24" for turkey guns. Seems to be the best compromise between pattering and a fast handling gun in the woods.
Old 03-10-2008, 10:45 AM

I am all about light weight. 24" is a good choice IMO
Old 03-10-2008, 11:55 AM
Spike

NEF has a real nice camo 12g pump at dick's for less than $250. remington's new 870 thumb hole/pistol grip turkey camo gun is nice but it's about $399. I shot and old remington 1100 magnum with a 32" barrel. i can kill turkeys at +50yards shooting a 3" heaveyshot high vilocety magnum shell
Old 03-10-2008, 12:09 PM