Community
Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

Best Load

Old 12-10-2007, 03:32 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default Best Load

Whats the best load for a 12 gauge. I want it in 3 or 3/12 inch.

Im shooting a Winchester Model 1300 SpeedPump.
Old 12-10-2007, 04:18 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Best Load

The best load will be determined by your gun. Try several. I've had good results from Winchester loads, Extended Range, High velocity, and the regular red hulled Turkey loads have all shot well for me. Your results may vary. Federal and Remington also make some mighty fine loads. There is no substitute for range time. You may find that the 3" loads will pattern better in your gun than the 3.5" loads.
Old 12-10-2007, 05:06 PM

I'll agree w/ Wingbone/ each gun willpattern differently. I would go pick up some # 4's 5's & 6's and see which works the best. Last season I started shooting #5 Remington Nitros I killed 3 birds so I'd say they did their job plus they're cheap.
Old 12-10-2007, 06:14 PM
Nontypical Buck

I'm going to go against the grain here and say not to go out and buy 5 boxes of shells and 3 chokes and start putting the hurt on yourself. What I will tell you to do is buy some of the Nitro shells atwww.nitrocompany.com (not Remington's version) and while you're at it, get a choke that they recommend on their web site and then start patterning your gun. I think you'll realize after a few shots with the Nitro's that it probably won't get any better than them. I wish I had just bought their shells from scratch because I've wasted many dollars trying to get good patterns with many different chokes and shell combinations.
Old 12-10-2007, 07:08 PM
Nontypical Buck

ORIGINAL: Simp