Community
Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

Hunting Pressured Areas

Old 08-06-2007, 11:08 PM
Fork Horn

Default Hunting Pressured Areas

Hi all, I am in the military beased in Louisiana. I grew up in Baton Rouge, but am now in Ft. Polk. We have our own hunting area for our soldiers here(roughly 150,000 acres). I know people that turkey hunt here, but don't willingly give away their secrets(of course)

Ive been hunting deer, ducks, and small game all of my life, but I am fairly new to the Turkey game. How would I go about hunting highly pressured birds?

P.S.-No ideas too expensive, eh boys? I'm on a soldiers budget. Haha.
Old 08-07-2007, 06:15 AM
Fork Horn

Default RE: Hunting Pressured Areas

You can try a number of things.Lots of times everyone is Hammering the Calls.You might try calling quiely and not very often.

Go with the Buddy system.have the Shooter setting closer to the Bird,caller on back.

Call and move away,that makes an old Tom mad and will come in.

And some times they do just like they should.

big rockpile
Old 08-07-2007, 08:00 AM
Giant Nontypical

this year i rolled my longbeard on highly highly pressured public land. i had him to my left a decint ways away, and 3 or 4 other birds 150 or so yards infront of me. didnt realize that they were half gobble at the time, and most likely jakes. i had the jakes going bonkers coming in on a string. then my bird let out some gobbles and chased off the jakes...i never heard another peep from them. didnt hear much of anything after that for a while. he gobble once or twice infront of me where the jakes were..then half hour or so later he let one out a little to my right 150yds away. half hour later i could hear a bird scratching in the leaves...another half hour and he appeared off the edge of the ridge and i put him down.