Community
Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

After the Shot

Old 04-06-2006, 06:20 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default After the Shot

I hunted turkeys last year and didn't get anything, but I have a question. I was wondering last year: If you get a turkey I notice on all the shows the turkey is still flopping around. Do you wait till the turkey dies and then go up to it? Is there something else that can be done? Like I said I'm new to this so take it easy on me guys, because I know this sounds like a dumb question.
Old 04-06-2006, 06:31 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: After the Shot

Unless I really clobber him, I usually run over and stand on it's neck til it quits flopping. There have been a lot of birds lost when they just get knocked silly for a while and get up and run or fly off. There have been a couple of times when I had to whacka bird for another guy who just grazed him.
Old 04-06-2006, 06:38 PM

Get on it and get there quick.
Old 04-06-2006, 06:53 PM
Nontypical Buck

thx for the info guys.
Old 04-06-2006, 07:04 PM
Nontypical Buck

When you go up to the bird be carefull. If he has good spurs dont grab him until hes dead. Unless you want stiches.
Old 04-06-2006, 07:05 PM

if you grab one dont grab the legs or u will be spurred and it aint no fun .i agree with the standin on the head or grabbin by the head .
Old 04-06-2006, 07:31 PM
JW
Super Moderator