Community
Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

New Guy

Old 01-30-2006, 09:20 AM

Default New Guy

I'm new to turkey hunting and this forum. I've never hunted turkeys but have hunted deer and waterfowl most of my life.

I've got 100 acres in south Alabama with turkeys on it, a 3.5" twelve guage shotgun, and camoflage clothes. I don't have any other turkey hunting gear so I'd appreciate some advice from you old hands.

The stores here aren't very helpful so I usually buy hunting gear from Cabela's or other internet outfitters.

To get started, I'd like to get a good box call and a tape or dvd on how to use it. Could you advise me?

Thanks for your help.

Old 01-30-2006, 10:12 AM
Boone & Crockett

Default RE: New Guy

First off, welcome to the forum. Your entering a passion that we know is turkey hunting. That being said, there are many, many good quality box calls on the market but I can't think of a tape, dvd that shows you how to use one. They are quite easy to use but I wouldn't limit yourself to just a box call. Too many times a turkey won't respond to a box call when he might have responded to a pot call....or vise versa...having several different types of calls increases the odds of a response. Cabelas carries several quality calls and here is another site to check out, www.rivervalleygamecalls.com The Fall Harvest box call is a real quality sounding call and you might want to invest in the MOJO glass/slate call. These two calls will make you very versital and they are both easy to use giving you exceptional turkey sounds....with whatever calls you decide to invest in, good luck and practice and we look forward to hearing about your success.
Old 01-30-2006, 01:06 PM
Typical Buck

Welcome! Great advise already
Old 01-30-2006, 05:14 PM
Nontypical Buck

Welcome Grizz.Hope to hear some success stories from ya this Spring.
Old 01-30-2006, 10:16 PM
Fork Horn