Community
Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

Fall turkey tactics

Old 09-12-2005, 06:41 AM
Dominant Buck

Default Fall turkey tactics

Indiana will hold it's very first Fall turkey season this year . The season will be either sex , and there's a grey phase hen that I'd really love to "pin down" with a 2219 tipped with a Thunderhead .

I'm still very new to turkey hunting in general , can anyone suggest some Fall tactics ?
Old 09-12-2005, 07:28 AM

Default RE: Fall turkey tactics

Good Luck if you are planning to single out one particularbird; especially with a bow! You will most certainly have to use a blind or else the other turkeys will spot you drawing. As for tactics find the food source they are using, and there may be more than one on any given day. With a bow you will almost have to break-up the flock and try to call them back together for a chance.
Old 09-12-2005, 09:27 AM
Dominant Buck

I have several pop-up blinds and others that I can use , what kinds of calls should I use ?
Old 09-12-2005, 10:54 AM
Fork Horn

ORIGINAL: kevin1

I have several pop-up blinds and others that I can use , what kinds of calls should I use ?
during the fall season here(ny) i set up between the roosting area and a food source. while in the blind i will use soft clucks,kee kee calls and on occasion a gobble call.

in the morning you can be fairly aggressive with the calling but after the flock has formed up i will tone down my calls to mimic a stray bird.

in the late afternoon i will set up aproximatly 100 yards or so from the roosting area to try and get a bird on its way back to roost.

best of luck to you this fall
Old 09-12-2005, 05:32 PM
Nontypical Buck