Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Turkey Hunting
 What did you learn this year? >

What did you learn this year?

Community
Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

What did you learn this year?

Old 05-31-2005, 05:44 PM

Default What did you learn this year?

Each day after my hunt is over, I sit at home and reflect on what went right and what went wrong and how I can do it better next time. I also jot my thoughts down in a turkey hunting journal that I have been keeping for the last three years. By doing this after each hunt, I'm able to record many details that I would probably forget had I waited until the season was over to think about and try to remember. When the season does end, I take my journal and read over each entry and try to come up with the most important items that I learned during my hunts. Here is an example of what I learned this year. Think back over your season and share with us the most important things you learned.

1. Weather can affect nesting times and later nesting means real hens for the gobblers to follow making it tougher to call them in. Another related point is a high hen to gobbler ratio makes for tough going.

2. The odds of calling in a bird go up if you have the patience to pick a good spot, call periodically, sit still, and listen. I now understand what I had read some time ago that patience and sitting perfectly still will kill more birds than fancy calling. On 5 separate occasions, I had gobblers come into me because I stayed in one spot, where I knew their were birds, and had heard no gobbling on the roost in the morning.