Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Outdoor Gear > Trail Cameras
Question about Trail Cameras >

Question about Trail Cameras

Community
Trail Cameras Post your trail cam photos, reviews, tips, and suggestions here.

Question about Trail Cameras

Old 08-11-2010, 04:36 PM
Spike

Default Question about Trail Cameras

I am a novice as far as trail cameras go. My question is this: "When I put an SD card into a trail camera and check on it a week later, can I take my own digital camera into the woods and pop the SD card out of the trail camera and view the pictures on my digital camera?"

If that is possible, then I wouldn't buy the picture viewer that sells for around $70. Any help would be great!!!
Old 08-11-2010, 04:39 PM
Fork Horn

Even better idea... just buy a second card and switch them out when you go check it and you can go home and email them to your friends.....

sometimes the format is different then come cameras can read, so may not work.
Old 08-11-2010, 05:04 PM
Fork Horn

Yep, buy a second card.
I buy mine on E-bay, I got my new in package Sandisk 2GB cards ( 8 of them ) for $2.95 each.
I have four cameras, just swap the cards and view them at home on the computer.
Only need to have a viewer is if you can't wait to get home to see the pictures.
Old 08-11-2010, 05:07 PM
Spike

yea 2 cards is easy but you can use your camera or a laptop thats what i use
Old 08-11-2010, 05:32 PM
Spike

Thanks guys, I thought about that and I do plan on switching out cards. However, we hunt 4 hours away from home and we don't have a computer up north to put the SD card into. I was hoping I could check out the pictures when I was still up north so I would have a better idea of which stand to hunt.
Old 08-11-2010, 07:23 PM
Giant Nontypical