Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Outdoor Gear > Trail Cameras
Infrared Question >

Infrared Question

Community
Trail Cameras Post your trail cam photos, reviews, tips, and suggestions here.

Infrared Question

Old 08-12-2009, 10:02 AM
Fork Horn

Default Infrared Question

Hey all, I just posted in a different category, not knowing about this one. I have a Stealth STC-1430IR camera. It takes nice day time pix and decent black and whites at night. It whites out at the same times every day - between 7:30 and 8pm and then again between 5:30 and 6am. It is facing north, but I am wondering if it could be the sun rising and setting. My main question is: What is the difference when the IR is set on AUTO as opposed to OFF?? I am new to these cameras and am quite happy with this one, but i don't know all there is to know. Here is a picture from it. I had this buck up wondering what he would score. The general consesus is between 115 and 120. I will definitely try to take him with my Mathews DXT. Hopefully I practiced enough!!
Attached Thumbnails Infrared Question-dsc_0503.jpg   Infrared Question-dsc_0508.jpg  
Old 08-12-2009, 11:30 AM
Nontypical Buck

I don't know anything about the stealth cams sorry. I do think that 115 looks to be about right for a measurement. I would also take the buck.
Old 08-12-2009, 11:40 AM
Nontypical Buck

It is probably struggling to know if it is daylight or dark, since the times that you mentioned when it did this is pretty close to sunrise and sunset. I think most IR cameras have that same problem. I know my Moultries did when I first got them. It has gotten better since their firmware update but they occasionally still have that problem.

Blessings.....Pastorjim
Old 08-12-2009, 12:05 PM
Typical Buck

Originally Posted by PastorJim08