Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Outdoor Gear > Trail Cameras
 to flash or not to flash >

to flash or not to flash

Community
Trail Cameras Post your trail cam photos, reviews, tips, and suggestions here.

to flash or not to flash

Old 07-28-2008, 08:32 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default to flash or not to flash

the title says it all.....Is Infrared better than flash??? Which one should i go with??

I am new to all of this trail camera stuff. Just wondering what you guys thought. I got my hands on some more money....i have 120 to spend and was wondering which ones i should check out
Old 07-28-2008, 08:52 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: to flash or not to flash

I have both kinds. Always a big dispute over the flash spooking deer, but my flash camera has probably had the best results. I don't think you'll have a problem with either kind.
Old 07-28-2008, 08:54 PM
Nontypical Buck

my one thing i am worried about is someone seeing the flash at night and stealing the camera

I would think infrared is harder to find for someone to steal......
Old 07-28-2008, 09:01 PM
Nontypical Buck

They do have lock boxes for most of them. But if that is your main worry go for the IR. From experience, you don't want one to flash in your eyes!
Old 07-29-2008, 06:11 PM
Nontypical Buck

They both will spook deer. I think it all depends on the deer's attitude at that time.
Old 07-30-2008, 04:30 AM
Nontypical Buck

i run both types of camera's and get the same amount of pictures.
Old 07-30-2008, 07:26 AM
Nontypical Buck

ORIGINAL: pa_yote_hunter

my one thing i am worried about is someone seeing the flash at night and stealing the camera

I would think infrared is harder to find for someone to steal......