Community
Traditional Archery Talk Trad-bows here!

Raining & Hunting

Old 10-16-2004, 04:45 PM

Default Raining & Hunting

This is my first year hunting with a long bow. I would like to know how many people hunt in the rain with there Stick & String.
Old 10-16-2004, 06:49 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Raining & Hunting

I was hunting this morning in the rain.Saw 3 doe-not shots.I don't mind a light rain but a heavy rain I won't hunt.
Old 10-16-2004, 09:16 PM
Giant Nontypical

I don't mind a light rain but a heavy rain I won't hunt.
Ditto.[&:]
Old 10-16-2004, 09:35 PM
LBR
Boone & Crockett

Same goes for me--I just don't enjoy sitting out in a duck-drowner. I don't have any good rain gear, and ain't gonna' put out the cash for it. I will sit through a drizzle if I don't get too cold. I hunt for the enjoyment of it, so when it's not fun anymore I leave.

Chad
Old 10-16-2004, 11:31 PM

A fog mist is OK, if a steady rain, Putting another pot of coffee on.
Old 10-16-2004, 11:48 PM
Nontypical Buck

I usually go, most of the time I have no choice. Either its hunt or spend the day in a tent lol.

I love to do it also, used to bike in the rain, however AK ran and Mn rains are completely different. I could bike all nite in a MN rain and not freeze my butt off, I am sure I dont have to go into details on AK.

Stalking is better, this was the other reason I liked it. I hated sitting in trees. Dont get me wrong, I just enjoyed stalking so much more.

That said I wouldnt shoot something in a torrential down pour due to recovery. I still went though, it was just nice to get out. The animals dont hide and usually get up and move more unless its a bad one. The minute it slows, out they come....
Old 10-17-2004, 12:54 PM

I dont mind a real light rain...... but even if it gets steady Ill usually stay ....... but if it gets hard Ill leave. But I like it damp because the leaves make it REAL hard to stalk in to my stand quiet...