Traditional Archery Talk Trad-bows here!

Recurve Question

Old 07-17-2004, 10:43 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default Recurve Question

Can anyone here give me any info about a recurve I just bought? I'm completely new to trad. archery, but an accomplished compound bowhunter. I basically understand that a longer bow is generally easier to shoot...correct? Aside from that I'm an all out noob! Here's the specs....

Damon Howatt Hunter
60# @28"
AMO 62"
HH

All of that is on the inside of the lower limb. I'll try to post a pic here in soon.
Old 07-17-2004, 10:57 AM

Default RE: Recurve Question

Jason
Welcome to real archery. I am also new to trad archery and am now contemplating selling my compound. I believe though that you are correct in your assesment of the longer bow statement, it my understanding that a longer bow stacks less and shoots alittle smoother although I could be wrong. Anyway I can tell you this much,shooting trad is alot more rewarding and fun. Enjoy!
Old 07-17-2004, 11:03 AM
Nontypical Buck

Here's some pics...

Old 07-17-2004, 11:09 AM

How's it shoot?
Old 07-17-2004, 12:41 PM
LBR
Boone & Crockett

Good bow in my opinion, especially if you draw 28" or less (they have a tendency to stack past 28-29").

60# is a lot to get started with--too much for most anyone. Unless you have a fairly short draw--24-25"--I suggest picking up something that pulls 40-45# at your draw until you get your form developed. Overbowing is probably the most common and worst mistake you can make. When you aren't in complete control of the bow you will develop bad habits that are a devil to break. You won't be as accurate or enjoy shooting it nearly as much either.