Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Traditional Archery
New to traditional bowhunting ... >

New to traditional bowhunting ...

Community
Traditional Archery Talk Trad-bows here!

New to traditional bowhunting ...

Old 10-08-2012, 05:09 AM
Spike

Default New to traditional bowhunting ...

I am new to traditional bowhunting and have not hunted yet but I want to. Aside from lots of practice, any suggestions on what to do to be as prepared as possible for the first time?

Posted from Huntingnet.com App for Android
Old 10-10-2012, 07:20 AM
Nontypical Buck

Once you are proficient with the bow, you need to learn to hunt. I'm still learning after more than 30 years.

Since you are interested in Traditional Archery, you probably aren't too caught up in the latest gadgets, which is good. Too many guys attribute their success/failure to whatever call or scent or camo, or whatever else they just bought.

Study the animal you plan to hunt. Read, watch videos, etc. But to really learn anything, you need to get out there. Going with another more experienced person can be a big help, but you can be just fine alone. Don't get overly concerend with killing game, it will happen eventually. Sooner or later you'll put it together and a shot will present itself. That is another mistake many make; feeling like they are not successful if they don't take an animal. If you want success, go to the meat market. If you want to hunt, go to the woods.

Last thing I'll recommend is to learn how to properly dress and care for the animal once you've taken it. Good luck to you.
Old 10-11-2012, 01:16 PM
LBR
Boone & Crockett