Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Traditional Archery
Hopefully new hunting bow this year >

Hopefully new hunting bow this year

Community
Traditional Archery Talk Trad-bows here!

Hopefully new hunting bow this year

Old 06-29-2010, 07:52 PM
bigcountry

Default Hopefully new hunting bow this year

Here she is after I rawhided the back. 55lbs at 25". Got 4" to go. Hopefully can stay with 55-60lbs finished. Hope and pray.

Old 06-30-2010, 02:24 AM
Fork Horn

Looks good. I don't have the necessary tools, forms, patience and skills to build myself a bow.
Old 06-30-2010, 04:01 AM
bigcountry

Originally Posted by Night Wing
Looks good. I don't have the necessary tools, forms, patience and skills to build myself a bow.
Tools, cheap, need a 5 dollar scraper, 10 dollar rasp, and hatchet

Patience, absolute essential. Let me put it this way, I have been tillering for two months. Only do it when I am in the mood, alert and have time. And only for 1/2 hour at a time.

Old 07-06-2010, 07:12 PM
Dominant Buck

Looks good young grasshopper. lol. You have developed the eye for tillering. I told you it would come around. Not to be critical, but is there a knot on the right limb near the tip. I ask because it looks a tad stiff? I ask being knit picky because the tiller looks great.
Old 07-06-2010, 07:14 PM
Dominant Buck

Originally Posted by Night Wing
You can make one with nothing more than a hatchet, axe, or knife. I had a friend make one with nothing but a piece of broken glass (that was after he split the log into a stave with a wedge) He did it to prove a point, but he did it. Took a long time, but like I said, he did it.
Old 07-07-2010, 04:53 AM
bigcountry

Originally Posted by burniegoeasily
Looks good young grasshopper. lol. You have developed the eye for tillering. I told you it would come around. Not to be critical, but is there a knot on the right limb near the tip. I ask because it looks a tad stiff? I ask being knit picky because the tiller looks great.