Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Traditional Archery
Traditional Bowhunting. (longbow) >

Traditional Bowhunting. (longbow)

Community
Traditional Archery Talk Trad-bows here!

Traditional Bowhunting. (longbow)

Old 02-23-2010, 02:16 PM
Spike

Default Traditional Bowhunting. (longbow)

Hello there fellow bowhunters. I have a fair knowledge of bowhunting with a compound bow. But I am planning to take on the challenge this season with a traditional longbow. So I was wondering if any of you longbow hunters out there know what is a good quality longbow out there. I have no knowledge of longbow, but you never learn unless you don't do! Thank you guys/gals.
Old 02-23-2010, 02:22 PM
Dominant Buck

My first trad. bow was a Bear Montana Longbow. Great shooter, for the money. They can be bought, new, for around $300. You can find them, used, for $200 (maybe less!).

Good luck.

If I were in your situation, I'd join tradgang and peruse their classifieds.
Old 02-23-2010, 06:30 PM
Spike

Check for a local trad club close to you.Someone should be glad to help you choose the right longbow,reflex-deflex,straight D whatever.Try to shoot a few longbows before deciding what you want to buy.Check out http://www.siegeworkcreations.com/longbows.htm.There are numerous good longbow bowyers.Siegeworkcreations has a good basic price for a beginner.If you really want to get pumped get hold of
Lettin' Loose
A Season with a Longbow DVD
Old 02-23-2010, 07:17 PM
bigcountry

I started off with a martin savannah. And after owning over 15 trad bows, I still hunt with that savannah.

Like Jeff said, you also can't go wrong with a bear either. In fact i recommend the bear first, that way you can learn what you do and don't like and next bow be a little more.

Old 02-23-2010, 08:50 PM
LBR
Boone & Crockett