Community
Traditional Archery Talk Trad-bows here!

Becoming Bowyer

Old 11-03-2009, 04:26 PM
Fork Horn

Default Becoming Bowyer

I am interested in building my own bows. I also was wondering if I should start with a kit that just needs tillering? I am good with my hands and very attentive to detail.
Old 11-04-2009, 12:56 AM
Giant Nontypical

It can be a lot of fun and be frustrating at the same time.

If you like you can come up here and use my shop to build one from scratch. Just pay for materials and electricity.
Old 11-04-2009, 04:23 AM
Fork Horn

I'm new to this endeavor myself. I started a couple of years ago - broke a lot of sticks and then laid off until recently when time opened up for me. I still broke a bunch more bows - learning all the time and reading as much as I could (recommend "The Bowyer's Bible, 3 volumes in paperback. Get volume one at least.)
Within the last month I have completed my first two bows that have held together. One is from Black Locust - 64" and 50lbs at 28". The second was finished two days ago - Osage Orange, 62" and about 45lbs at 26".
I had a cherry wood bow virtually done, 66" rawhide backed, tillered well (or so I thought), nice looking bow. Broke on the fourth shot - one limb just cracked in half.
Made a mistake somewhere.
Get yourself some wood and some hand tools. Make the thing from scratch. You'll learn more.
Pete

Last edited by Pete D.; 11-17-2009 at 03:52 AM.
Old 11-04-2009, 06:47 AM
bigcountry

If building selfbows, read Dean Torges book first. Then read traditional bowyers bible vol1. All 4 volumns are helpful but vol 1 is best for starters.

You can order blanks from several sources that just need tillered and finished. If still interested I can point you to a few bowyers who sells them.

If you are interested fiberglass bows, then I would go with the bingham videos. Trad bowyers bibles help a little but are more geared to all wood bows.

Last edited by bigcountry; 11-04-2009 at 06:50 AM.

Old 11-04-2009, 12:49 PM