Community
Traditional Archery Talk Trad-bows here!

nock set location ???

Old 09-14-2009, 01:25 PM
Fork Horn

Default nock set location ???

Where should i set the nock on my string to shoot three under with a recurve? What broadhead and arrow's would you use on a 40# recurve for deer. I was thinking of 125gr magnus stinger or other 2 blade heads and a heavy aluminum arrow. I am new to traditional archery and only plan to use it later, after i have become more efficient with it.
Old 09-14-2009, 01:32 PM
bigcountry

Originally Posted by iowabuckslayer
Where should i set the nock on my string to shoot three under with a recurve? What broadhead and arrow's would you use on a 40# recurve for deer. I was thinking of 125gr magnus stinger or other 2 blade heads and a heavy aluminum arrow. I am new to traditional archery and only plan to use it later, after i have become more efficient with it.
For a 40lb recurve, I would use 1816 or 1916 aluminum with 150gr tip.

As for setting nock point, you can bare shaft tune to locate correct nock point. Usually for 3 under if the bow is tillered for split, you would set to 1/2" over center. For a bow tillered for 3 under about 1/4" or more over center.

Old 09-14-2009, 03:16 PM
Fork Horn

I have a martin rebel if it help's. How do i know what it is tillered for?
Old 09-15-2009, 06:30 AM
Nontypical Buck

All non custom bows are tillered for split finger draws.To find the best spot for the nock start with a bare shaft and set the nock a tad to high.Gradually bring it down until you see the nock high flight go away.In some cases you can't quite get rid of it all together but that's ok.Just be sure what high you're seeing is not being caused by the arrow bumping the shelf which also shows as nock high.That said I would suggest getting the brace height dialed in first.Good luck!
Old 09-15-2009, 06:48 AM
Fork Horn