HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Traditional Archery (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/traditional-archery-19/)
-   -   New to Trad (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/traditional-archery/231435-new-trad.html)

waiting_for_a_gift 02-08-2008 01:48 PM

New to Trad

I’ve been bowhunting for over 30 years, started with recurve for a couple years as a teen, then went to a compound. I’ve always shot with fingers, and used sights but no peep. Now I’ve inherited an old 45 lb recurve, and want to start using it. I’m asking for advice.

1. I’ve already purchased a string, but I am afraid it is not an appropriate one. I would estimate the brace height with this string to be over 10”. How would I go about determining the correct brace height / string length?

2. I have low end carbon arrows with vanes. Do you think they’d be worth a try with the recurve? I have my compound set around 55 lbs or less.

3. Any advice about setting up the bow, arrows, etc. would be appreciated. I intend to shoot bare bow / instinctive, no sights.

4. I am committed to sticking with my 145 gr. screw in bear razorheads. I have a good supply of them, and they’ve worked really well for me.

5. Do you hold your draw for any length of time, or pretty much release the instant you hit your anchor point?

6. The reason I'm doing this is that a very high percentage (almost all) of my bow kills are inside of 20 yards, and I figure this will simplify and maybe even improve the shot process.

BobCo19-65 02-08-2008 02:10 PM

RE: New to Trad

Welcome back!

1. 10" is too much. I don''t know what bow it is, but I'd venture to say to keep it around 7 1/2-8 inches.
2. I don't think those arrows will work well, be careful. They will more then likely be too stiff. Unless you are using a raised rest, you will need feathers.
3. Get the book "Become the Arrow" by Byron.
4. Sounds good!